About the Homestay

Nature Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I live in a four-bedroom townhouse in a peaceful but exciting area of Vancouver called the "River District". We are half a block from the Fraser River, with bike and walking paths, parks, fishing, tennis courts, community gardens, a beach, ducks, geese, boardwalks, and "Romer's Restaurant", an organic burger bar with a creative and delicious menu. We are 30 minutes to downtown via the #100 bus on Marine Drive, and the "Canada Line" skytrain, and 20 minutes from the airport. We are surrounded by nature: trees, gardens, and the river, in a peaceful, friendly neighbourhood. I am a certified English and French teacher, currently teaching on-line, and a yoga teacher (currently not teaching). We are intelligent and warm, and enjoy travelling, camping, healthy eating, keeping in shape, and enjoying life with friends and family. There is street parking on the hill (Portside), but not in our housing complex. We have a living room upstairs and a family room with a large-screen TV and Netflix downstairs, newly renovated with hardwood flooring, comfortable leather couches, and even a two-person Solaris Infrared sauna, which is deeply healing, cleansing and relaxing! We have a nice balcony to enjoy the fresh air and relax, with chimes, a bird feeder (hummingbirds come!) and outdoor couches. Small garden in the backyard. We have a cute cat, half Bengal, named "Kitty". No smoking or pets, please. Expecting Covid compliance.

Pets

Cat

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Non Smoking
  • Air Conditioning

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 3 nights

Maximum stay is for 300 nights

Available for given dates

Royal room
From $28 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is the master bedroom on the upper floor of the house. It has a partial view of the river, a nice crystal bedside lamp, ample closet space, a pillow top queen sized mattress with a feather duvet, and two dressers.

Facilities
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$45
$60
Weekly Price
$270
$350
Monthly price
$850
$1,400
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in the south-east part of Vancouver, half a block from the Fraser River. There are walking and biking paths by the river, with parks, tennis courts, picnic areas and playgrounds.. We have the best of both worlds: the peace of nature, yet also in the city, only half an hour to downtown, beaches, etc. One minute to the #100 bus to the Skytrain and downtown, 5 minutes to the #20 bus going north. 20 minutes from the airport.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Bus Stop

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

No smoking, drinking, drugs or pets. You can walk down by the river to smoke. Quiet time from 11 pm to 7 am. Limited fridge space, but there is an additional fridge downstairs if you want to keep a lot of food. Lock all doors when leaving. Keep areas clean, as you would your own home; clean up kitchen after use, wash, dry, and put away dishes. No visitors without the host's consent. Quiet entry and exit, quiet on the street. Welcome to use downstairs family room to watch Netflix etc., and to relax on balcony. Please leave key on microwave when leaving, and arrive at pre-arranged check-in time.

Smoking is not allowed.

6 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United States
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2021

    Host was welcoming and friendly. Went above and beyond to ensure that I enjoyed my stay. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Vancouver. 10/10

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ynzu3ndc zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  712d81f2a810baf807d91f3c846680fde2e4af44&style=small

    Germany
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2019

    It was a pleasure to stay here and I can just recommend Tanya's place. It was my first stay ever in Canada and Tanya supported me wherever she could. It was very comfortable to live there on one side because of the calm surroundings in the River district but especially because Tanya is very kind and you can always ask and talk to her.

    All the best!

    Leon

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Greece
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    Host was more than friendly and willing to help. Couldn't ask for a better deal. Great location, not too far away from the noisy city centre, right by Fraser river where peace and quietness is always predominant. Flexible meals based on your preference( can't let out what a great cook Tanya is.)
    Just an overall great value that I could not recommend enough!!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Tanya in ,

    Aww, thanks Dimitris. I've really enjoyed getting to know you, and your kind and respectful attitude is so appreciated. Not to mention your persistence with fixing our table leg! Thanks for everything.

  • Photo

    Canada
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    October 2018

    Tanya is very nice and friendly. I really enjoyed my vacation in Vancouver. I wish stay with her again next time I visit Vancouver.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 55 - 64

    2 hearts
    September 2018

    Host was very rude, lacked respect and overbearing. Her continuous "pounding' of all she wants to say for absolute dominance in any conversation. Her neediness and need for affirmation was reflected in her behavior and attitude.

    A host who was totally obsessed in the "business" mentality and the use of aggression and lack of respect for another. There was zero desire for her in communication or listening in any conversation. Absolutely intolerable.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yndu0njm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  6b9b9136da0232054dafec0e2ef78e50cf13f150&style=small

    Japan
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    September 2018

    Tanya is a very good host! She often spoke to me with a smile and made me laugh. I got better after talking to you. I enjoyed conversation. She made a smoothie and eggs for me. It was very delicious! If I go to Vancouver again, I want to stay with Tanya.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Tanya in ,

    Aww, thanks Kota! You were so sweet as well, I really enjoyed your positive energy and willingness to laugh and enjoy! Wish I could have seen you more! Come back soon, when the weather’s nice!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies