About the Homestay

Cosmopolitan Modern
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Furnished suite at convenient Yonge & Sheppard within new house in safe neighbourhood. Walk to Sheppard subway/metro.

Clean modern private suite, includes your own bedroom with double bed, beautiful bathroom with marble finishes, living area with large comfy couch, coffee table and movable desk.

High 9’ ceilings. Plus mini fridge, microwave and large sink in mini kitchenette. Suite on lower level, only 4 steps below ground level.

Shared gourmet kitchen with hosts, on main level.

Private entrance and your own walkout to backyard/garden.

All utilities and internet included. Please no downloading.

As your hosts, we are friendly, respectful and love to spend time with friends and family. We are proud of our home and keep it very clean. We also have a small dog; a Shih Tzu who is hypoallergenic, should not affect allergies.

*One load of laundry will be provided on the weekend (wash and dry only).

Safe home with Alarm system, smoke detectors, carbon monoxide detectors

Shared driveway parking available at additional fee.

Once booking confirmed - a 25% deposit required by Interac bank e-transfer within 72 hours.
Balance in full due upon day of arrival.

Deposit refunds - 100% deposit refund if you cancel minimum 14 days in advance of arrival date. 50% deposit refund if you cancel 7-13 days prior to arrival. No refund if cancellation is less than 7 days.

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 5 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Your Bedroom
From $40 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Private room with comfortable double bed. High 9' ceilings in the lower level. You will also have your own beautiful bathroom with linens.

  • Desk and Lamp
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Mirror
  • Fridge
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
Monthly price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

About 5 min walk to bus stop and 10 min walk to Yonge Sheppard subway. (approx. 20 min subway ride to downtown Toronto).

Stay on quiet street yet walk to vibrant street life - Wholefoods market, Starbucks, Tim Horton's, bubble tea, LCBO, great shopping, restaurants and bars. Walk to many parks and ravines.

Close to movie theatres, Toronto Centre for the Arts and the North York Central Reference library.

15-20 min to airport, traffic dependent. Minutes from highway.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Homestay for one person only, additional person at extra fee and with approval only.

No overnight guests without approval.

Please keep space clean and tidy. Hallways need to be free of clutter for safety.
Do not leave out open food stuffs.

Smoke free house; please do not smoke anywhere on the property - no smoking in garage, backyard or driveway. If you smoke, please go out to the street.

Full kitchen shared upstairs - please completely clean up after use. Dishwasher available.

Be respectful of environment and waste. Use recycle and organic/green bins. Throw out garbage weekly.

Turn off lights when not in room.

High speed internet/wifi provided - please no downloading.

Please try keep noise to a minimum, especially between 12:00 am - 9 am.

Smoking Rules

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is not allowed.

7 Reviews

  • Aedftp5qq4uw9cfbvofoev6ww7cdtg7nrtqehe2fwuyj g=s96 c

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    August 2023

    Staying at Casa Tara was very special and helped a lot to make my stay in Canada as comfortable as possible. The place is large and well ventilated, with a bedroom, living room, individual bathroom and a small adapted kitchen. The room is very close to the metro (Sheppard-Yonge) and access to the sites is very easy. The neighborhood is quiet and very beautiful… take the opportunity to see the squirrels. Tara is very kind and always helps with whatever you need. Tara's dog Frankie is very polite and happy, so cute. I loved being able to spend this month with you. To the next!!!

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8znte2mdm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  09188f6e244e00ef8a1c1559245ee1f37ceffb60&style=small

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    April 2023

    Tara is very hospitable, she does everything for you to feel comfortable. The house has a great location, safe and quiet neighbourhood, there is a subway nearby: straight line to the Union station, downtown Toronto. There are grocery stores nearby. The room is cozy, with a mini-kitchen. Thank you very much

  • Alm5wu0imxpmu2otzfzybs m4qz8o282ckug24bviehfoq=s96 c

    Age 55 - 64

    3 hearts
    March 2023

    I think it is important to note that the basement is open to the rest of the house, it is not closed off and there is no door. There is a door on the bedroom, but it does not have a lock. This openness affects privacy and noise levels as the living room where the family watches tv is at the top of the stairs, as well as the front door of the house. Although the house rules request minimum noise especially between the hours of midnight and 9am, I experienced the host, family and friends coming home between the hours of 1230am and 2am on several occasions during my stay. This Homestay is perhaps better suited for someone who stays up later and rises a little later in the morning. The mini kitchenette was great to have, however, the mini fridge is in the complete opposite end of the basement, which is a bit inconvenient. I did though very much appreciate Tara doing my laundry weekly.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmjc0mtm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  b4d438c2cb9f7edb0c667f82cf505bf09147643c&style=small

    Hong Kong
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    December 2022

    Tara is a friendly and nice host. The room is new and clean. The location is pretty close to the TTC station and supermarket. I have a happy homestay experience with Tara, I would recommend this homestay to anyone who wants to travel or stay in Toronto!

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmzixndg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  d93b676e3ab0e8b35cae5dc80a592c83f22dad34&style=small

    Age 25 - 34

    4 hearts
    December 2022

    Beautiful semi-basement apartment in an elegant and safe neighbourhood, the place is newly furnished and clean. Convenient location, 15 min walk to shops, subway and bus stop, but it usually took me longer because of the many road crossings. Cleaning after 2 weeks was provided and Tara did the laundry once a week as agreed.
    If you need a safe and quiet accommodation and you like to stay by yourself it's the perfect place - not the best option if you need to practise your English or expect a "big family" environment though. Tara is very helpful but also leaves you do your things.

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    December 2022

    Tara was a great host she was so kind and polite. Also house was soo clean and cozy. I highly recommend tara to anybody who wants to be in a great house.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ynde2odq zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  58d7ca3755d5d3659bc574444de4615ad4493dad&style=small

    Age 25 - 34

    Automated Post
    April 2019

    The host cancelled the booking 40 days before the arrival date.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies