Spacious bright & central - LGBTQIA

Homestay in Rathmines/Ranelagh - Rathmines, Ireland

About the Homestay

Cosmopolitan Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

This is a very large house which is the home of six happy people who are all busy with work, school, sport and music. We are Irish/Australian/Brazilian. We all love to travel and get to know new people. We have two very friendly cockerpoo DOGS so be aware of that when considering whether our busy house is a good fit for you.

Sarah is an occupational therapist and finishing her MA. She works and studies from home. John is a company director in town. Keli is studying english in Temple Bar. She is full of useful information for travellers from other countries and loves to help our guests who are new to Dublin. Our three kids are interested and enthusiastic young people who are polite and friendly. They enjoy sport and music and are busy individuals. Please be aware that we have a piano and drum kit in our ground floor family room. We enforce strict practice embargoes for the kids - they can do no music practice before 10 am or after 8 pm.

This design-conscious house is very large so it is possible to be as connected with us or as separate as you like. The bathroom available for your use is used rarely by us as we tend to use the two upstairs bathrooms for all our showering needs. You will be allocated space in the fridge, freezer and the pantry and have the use of our sizeable kitchen to prepare your meals. We have a well equipped kitchen which is capable of catering for large groups.

We don't facilitate short stays so if you are looking for three months or more you are welcome to contact us. We like to get to know the people that live with us so medium to long term stays work well for that.

Pets

2 Dogs

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 10 nights

Maximum stay is for 29 nights

Available for given dates

Double bedroom
From 41 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a spacious room situated at the back of our large victorian house. The bathroom has a Japanese bath with a shower over head. The bathroom mood lighting allows for relaxing soaks after long days at work or study.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
41
50
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Ranelagh and Rathmines are located in the Victorian part of Dublin (the town centre is Georgian). So imagine tree lined streets, red brick homes, a super mix of families, singles and people that have been here for forty years or more. We have many public transport options to travel into town, over to the Irish sea or out to the mountains and the closest bus stop is three minutes from our place. The Beechwood luas stop is a quick 5 minute walk. Because Dublin is so compact you can be in the city centre in 7 minutes by tram, out to the surrounding hills and forests in 25 minutes by car, or over to Dublin Bay in 15 minutes by car. You have all the convenience of town with none of hassles.

Ranelagh and Rathmines are chock full of restaurants and bars and the centre of Dublin has more than it's fair share of theatres and live music venues. The Irish are renown for their literature and there is a wonderful 'literary pub crawl' to do in town - haven't you always wanted to drink beer while listening to great stories about Yeats and Oscar Wilde?

Our house is situated 10 minutes drive from both UCD and Trinity College and many language schools in town. There is a supermarket five minute walk from our house and a park at either end of our street - both parks are great places to walk through to wind down after a busy day of study or work.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

We run a very busy house with lots of people coming and going so we ask that you are reasonably self sufficient. Our kitchen is large so it's easy to work in and we would always expect that you clean up after yourself every time you cook and eat. We have three school age children who are busy with school, sport and music. If you enjoy the companionship and fun that comes with family living then you will enjoy our household.

You will have access to our laundry room which is always on the go. If you are flexible about when you do your laundry or able to schedule using the machines at the same time every week then it will all work well.

We respectfully ask that you do not bring other people into our home without asking us first.

Smoking is not allowed.

5 Reviews

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Germany
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    April 2017

    Sarah, is friendly, helpful and kind, put that together with her Wonderful family, dogs and the gorgeous house and you cant go wrong!! Great energy, great room, comfy bed and I highly recommend you just say yes and stay here;-)

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United States

    5 hearts
    February 2017

    Wonderful family. warm welcome. I will keep them on my list.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Sarah in ,

    It was a pleasure to have you, Deb

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmdiymdm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  433d833ac0ef3529980d4877d0ffb6fbd037c9d9&style=small

    Germany
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    January 2017

    It was a really nice stay!
    The family is really friendly and the house is beautiful.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Canada
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    September 2016

    This family is AMAZING! I stayed at their house for the month of August and I would recommend this Homestay to everyone looking to spend some time in Dublin. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the room with the double bed is very big, with a space with a desk and bookshelves, and a large window that lets in a lot of natural light. Even though there are a lot of people in the house (Sarah, John, the three kids and Kelli, the au pair), you never feel like you are in the way as there is plenty of space around the house. There are 3 bathrooms available and the kitchen is great to accomodate the large number of people in the house! The location is perfect, only a 5 minutes walk away from 2 Luas stations and the 140 bus. You can catch plenty of other buses and do you grocery shopping at the big Tesco on Rathmines Road, only a 10 minutes walk away! The ride to get to the city center is about 20 minutes. The neighbourhood is very calm and absolutely beautiful. The family has made me feel very welcome and they are always ready to help! They are also very respectful of privacy. They are easy to talk to and very fun to be around! Thank you guys for these great 4 weeks that were the perfect ending to my year in Dublin! <3

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmda1mje zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  31ebc4b0075b01ab3f4cfd20cea83d12cd58c6b9&style=small

    Brazil
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    July 2016

    I couldn't choose a better place and more receptive place to stay. The home is very comfortable, safe, beautiful and the all family is very polite and helpful. Sarah deserves the best review ever. 5 hearts for sure.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies