About the Homestay

Suburban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

We live in a beautiful suburb of Dublin, myself a TEFL tutor, my husband Dermot, my son, Mark 30, who visits weekly and all our furry friends.

We are only 3 minutes from the bus which goes every 10 minutes and takes only 25 minutes by public transport to the City Centre. Workers and students find our home very close to every area they need.

We can also help you organise your trips to some of the most beautiful areas in Ireland. Our home is set in a nice area overlooking a little park and with a view of the mountains, ideal for touring all over the East Coast (Garden of Ireland) and we are more than happy to help you arrange any excursions you may wish, plus let you know where to visit the best kept secret places, which most visitors are not aware of (lovely views, pubs and restaurants).

We have a 3 bedroomed home and a lovely garden where we spend a lot of time relaxing. We have dogs and cats which we rescued from our local animal shelter (we love them completely).

* After the booking confirmation we request the remaining payment on arrival.

Additional Info

We have off street parking.

Pets

2 Dogs, 2 Cats

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm on each floor
  • Non Smoking
  • Allow Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 3 nights

Maximum stay is for 29 nights

Available for given dates

Cosy Room
From 22 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a lovely bright room with a single bed, desk, wardrobe and access to Wifi 24 hours per day with access to a modern bathroom, complete with shower and a view of a lovely green area

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
Nightly Price
27
Weekly Price
170
Large single room
From 30 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

large room suitable for anyone who needs that little extra space with a double wardrobe and view of our local green area.

Facilities
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
Nightly Price
30
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in a quiet and safe suburb called Ballycullen within easy reach of the City Centre. Our home is only 2 minutes walk to our local shops and pubs and is only 25 minutes by public transport to and from the City Centre.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Horse Stables
  • Sports arena
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast
  • Half Board
  • Packed lunch

House Rules

We will respect you as we expect you to respect our family. Keep our house and animals secure as you would your own, otherwise enjoy!!
We hope you enjoy your stay and our kitchen facilities are for our family use only but we will provide meals at your request.

Enjoy

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

25 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmdeznje zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  9b9abe64de9e4c01972ef4dc818c84c1031aba34&style=small

    France
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    October 2020

    Bests Ireland's hosts
    (I'll come back :)

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmda5nda zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  568a9578142a9dc3dcace20f97d85031296ecad4&style=small

    Ireland
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    September 2020

    I stayed with dermot and Shirley for a few days, both are great hosts and really helpful, house was lovely as is the area. I would have no problem recommending this homestay.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Shirley & Dermot  in ,

    Thank you Pete you were a pleasure to host and you are welcome anytime

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yoti5nte zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  df2c31ed2e5674b8fec185e0b5b229fd934d6a2e&style=small

    United States
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    February 2020

    Shirley and Dermot were absolutely wonderful hosts! Even though I stayed for just a short weekend, they provided endless advice on places to see both in Dublin and the natural areas around town. If anyone is in doubt about the location of the house, it's super easy to take the bus from a stop just down the road of the house into Dublin. All of Shirley and Dermot's pet animals are very kind and playful! I would recommend this place to anyone looking, long-term or just for a weekend.

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Shirley & Dermot  in ,

    Thank you so much for your review. We had a great weekend with the two of you and we would recommend the pair of you staying with any family. I loved hearing the two of you laughing and helping you with your plans. Come back anytime. Shirley

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yotq0nze zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  27ec430d6152a2a1d7bd3394ff7b4956fe225fd1&style=small

    Ireland
    Age 35 - 44

    4 hearts
    February 2020

    Lovely host nice accommodation.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yodm3mdg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  31b3537a5c3aa965f8d70c9fdebfbb59ddfca7a2&style=small

    Spain
    Age 35 - 44

    3 hearts
    November 2019

    Para estar unos dias es correcto. Para vivir un mes o mas no ya que no puedes cocinar y tienes una intimidad muy relativa

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Ireland
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    August 2019

    Shirley and Dermot are perfect hosts and made me feel very welcome and relaxed in their lovely home!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Shirley & Dermot  in ,

    Thanks Paul. Your welcome anytime. Shirley

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ynjk4nje zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  a71124b61dda328f2347833c5d2a51f0a073365a&style=small

    Spain
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    I recommend this house because I had the best time in this city, they make me feel like at home since I arrived. They are lovely and the animals are incredible. I am so sad for leaving them, because they are amazing. Next guess please, look after this incredible family.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymduwnzu zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  d905b85ba438eea458bf6c792b7077c6b8210ad6&style=small

    Germany
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    November 2018

    I really can’t believe that it is already over!
    When I arrived at Shirley’s and Dermot‘s place in July, I felt so welcomed as if I just returned to my own place. I want to thank you for giving me a home in Dublin, for all the nice chats and evenings with you and for looking after me and making sure that I am fine! I will certainly miss you and all our lovely animals and I can’t wait to see you all again in December.
    Hugs for you and pets for the animals!
    xx Miriam

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymte2mji zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  5bac6acfdc70320e01208e9785e19d001b3dfda0&style=small

    France
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    June 2018

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Argentina
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    May 2018

    Shirley and Dermot are an amazing hosts. They're so friendly and kind. They took its time to help me with all the amenities of the house and making me feel like I was in my own home. The dogs and the cats are very quiet and so affectionate that they're always looking for love. Thank you so much for being your guest

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Shirley & Dermot  in ,

    August in thank you for such a beautiful review. Your welcome anytime.
    Xxx Shirley

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies