About the Homestay

Suburban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

My name is Nóra and I am a secondary school teacher teaching Business and Irish. My partner, Romain is French and grew up in the Gaeltacht in Galway. I love meeting new people and learning about new cultures and places. Our house is located in a quiet and beautiful cul-de-sac in Rathfarnham. We have a large green directly in front of our house (and your bedroom window) with a fantastic old Beechwood tree. We are located right beside St Enda's Park and Marlay Park. The house is a beautiful 4 bedroom house with 3 bathrooms. There is a garden out front and a large south-facing garden in the back which soaks up the sun when it is shining. The room that is for rent is a spacious room with lots of storage space for your needs. A desk is available and chair which can be used for any college or coursework. The room is very peaceful and quiet. The bathroom is located down the hall which will mainly be used by yourself only as we have an en-suite in our own bedroom. You will have use of the kitchen and all appliances, the living room, sitting room and the garden. WIFI connection is excellent throughout the house.

Please feel free to message me if you have any questions.

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 7 nights

Maximum stay is for 252 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Guest room
From 22 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
 1 guest
Weekly Price
Monthly price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in a quiet and beautiful cul-de-sac in Rathfarnham surrounded by lovely welcoming and friendly neighbours. We have a large green directly in front of our house (and your bedroom window) with a fantastic old Beechwood tree. St Enda's Park (also known as Padraig Pearse Park) is a five minute walk from our door. We are also extremely lucky to have another popular park beside us, Marley Park which is a 15 minute walk away. The Dublin mountains are a 10 minute drive with many areas for exploring such as Ticknock and Cruagh woods. The M50 is less than 10 minutes away, with bus routes to town around the corner taking 25-30 minutes to get to the City Centre. Dundrum shopping centre and Luas are a 30 minute walk away and Nutgrove shopping centre a 20 minute walk. We are also located up the road from Rathfarnham Castle and Village. There is a large Lidl, Centra, Doctors and Pharmacy a 20 minute walk away and also small local shops close by.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

No smoking in the house (can smoke in the back garden).
Please clean up after yourself and keep the house clean.
Arrange with Nora times for using the kitchen/ washing machine etc.
Polite and respectful behaviour.
Refundable deposit required in advance.

Smoking Rules

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is not allowed.

7 Reviews

  • Afdzucplk4luzerlf0bdbkzs5h9 lf1tbkcijecpsein=s96 c

    South Korea
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    June 2023

    I was so happy to stay here.
    The house is in a very safe, quiet and peaceful area. The shopping center is close enough to walk, and there is a bus stop that thay you can take the bus to the city center.
    The room is clean, comfortable and perfect to stay.
    Nóra and Romain are so lovely and kind. people. I think I'm really lucky that the first people I met in Dublin are Nóra and Romain.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zndg0mjq zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  25d9ca4fc0e6172ae870888e63aaebbe13c8f3b1&style=small

    South Korea
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    May 2023

    I stayed at Nóra's for a month as a start of my working holiday. And I think it was a very fortunate thing that happened to me. I loved every second of it while I was staying there. I felt very welcomed and cared for every day since the first day that I arrived. Having chats, watching tv together and all the things made it feels like home for me. Nóra was always positive and bright so that really made me happy too.

    The room was clean and comfortable and it had a view of a cute heart-shaped beech tree outside. Also, the house was really cozy and lovely. Also loved the view of the sun-shined beautiful back garden.

    I felt safe around this area. Easy to walk to go to the shopping center and grocery stores. There is a bus stop nearby to go to the city centre. And there are two beautiful parks close to the house. They both have wonderful scenery with beautiful trees and flowers.

    I highly recommend staying in Nóra's house!

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    April 2023

    I had a very good experience. I was very well received. Nora has great interpesonal skills : her smile, her availability, her patience with my communication difficulties in english. She is a lovely and kindness person.
    I really liked her house. I felt comfortable.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2023

    I spent three months in Dublin to do an internship at St. Kilian's German School Dublin. For these three months, I stayed with Nóra and her husband Romain. Xinlan, a student from China, has a room in Nóra's and Romain's house too while studying at UCD. From the very beginning of my stay, Nóra and Romain told me that this was also my home and their place really became a home to me so quickly. All three of them took very good care of me and I loved enjoying a glass of wine while watching Netflix or having a nice chat with them or going for a hike with Xinlan. Nóra and Romain are one of the most lovely people I've ever met and they take care of the people around them and are always there for you if you need advice or help, or if you just want to watch a movie. All three of them became family to me and I will miss them so much, and I can't wait to see them again!
    Rathfarnham is a lovely and secure area with two parks nearby, St. Enda's Park and Marlay Park. I loved grabbing a coffee and going for a walk in Marlay Park on the weekends with a very nice view of the mountains.
    Nóra's place is perfect for anyone who wants to come to Dublin for a couple of months because the house is so lovely and you are constantly surrounded by a wonderful atmosphere and by lovely people.

    Read more »

  • Aoh14gic8xed gyp604pgbonyspnltgp9fl5bus8zp5raw=s96 c

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    September 2022

    Nóra and Romain are the most lovely people I’ve ever met in Dublin. They are welcoming, warm, and kind. Their home is always clean and organized, and always smells nice, everything here has a memory into it which makes this place even more meaningful. Both of them are the most special people, they always smile and ask you how you doing, they always welcome you to join for a movie, they always listen and genuinely care about you, and everyday cannot be better with them.

    Their home is located in a safe, and quiet area with nicest neighbors too. If you are lucky, you can see some foxes sprinting into the bushes. It’s also easy to take a bus to town, which takes you just about half an hour, with great facilities so you can easily visit parks and get grocery shoppings.

    I highly recommend Nóra and Romain’s place for you to stay. Behind the beautiful blue door, you’ll begin a new journey, and I promise, it would be a great one.

    Read more »

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2022

    Nóra and Romain are both exceptional hosts! They have been very welcoming and helpful since the first day of my stay and have rendered my experience in Ireland memorable.

    The house is in a lovely, quiet, and safe area, within walking distance of two shopping centres and a bus stop that goes directly to the city centre. The house is spacious, luminous, and always tidy and clean, while the guest room is conformable and cosy with a lot of storage room and a beautiful view of the front garden.

    The real asset of my stay has been living with Nóra and Romain. They are both very warm, kind-hearted, and positive people who experience life at its fullest - something I truly admire! I've been extremely lucky to have met them; they are the best hosts and amongst the greatest people I've met.

    I cannot recommend Nóra's place highly enough!

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    June 2021

    I was staying at Nóras during an internship for nearly 3 months and enjoyed it very much! The room is very bright and cozy with a lot of space. The rest of the house was always clean and comfortable. I was also welcome to spend my time in the common areas like the kitchen, living room or garden. The area around the house is safe and quiet with two nice parks in walking distance. Also a direct bus goes into the city centre and the airport.

    Nóra and Romain are amazing! They are very friendly, open and positive people, who are always up for a chat, swim or a game of chess, but also respect your privacy and alone time. I felt very welcome, comfortable and safe in their home. I can only recommend staying here!

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies